FILM COMMISSION

Villy Wang President

Matt Stiker Vice President

Jim Beaumonte Commissioner

Claudine Cheng Commissioner

Tony Delorio Commissioner

Alix Rosenthal Commissioner

Jon Rubin Commissioner

Jack S. Song Commissioner

Belle Taylor-McGhee Commissioner

Carolyn Tyler Commissioner

Julie Gilman Veronese Commissioner

OFFICE STAFF

Manijeh Fata Acting Executive Director

Zefania Preza Senior Film Coordinator

Ismael Castillo Film Coordinator July 25, 2022

-

Senator Anthony Portantino State Capitol 1021 O Street, Room 7630 Sacramento, CA 95814 c/o Email: <u>aaron.skaggs@sen.ca.gov</u>

RE: SB 485 Film Credit Legislation

Dear Senator Portofino:

We are the San Francisco Film Commission and are writing on behalf of more than 4,400 SAG-AFTRA members, 700 IATSE film and television technicians and 400 Teamsters drivers and location managers working and living in the Bay Area. On July 25th, 2022, the SF Film Commission unanimously voted to strongly endorse this letter of support for SB 485 that provides tax credits based on qualified expenditures for eligible film and TV productions that are produced in California.

After Los Angeles, the Bay Area is the second largest film and television production region in the state, with a number of significant media companies, including YouTube, Dolby, Google, Pixar, and Lucasfilm, contributing to the vibrance of the local industry. While the California tax credit program has been successful in attracting film and television projects to Los Angeles, local stakeholders report that it has not sufficiently attracted filming to the Bay Area.

First, production companies have conveyed to local advocates that a 5% credit for filming outside the Los Angeles region is not sufficient to meet the costs associated with relocating significant filming to Northern California. Additionally, Bay Area film stakeholders are not able to utilize the existing state credit program to attract additional productions from out of state.



City and County of San Francisco San Francisco Film Commission • City Hall • Room 473 One Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco • California • 94102 415 554 6241 • www.filmsf.org



DRAFT

FILM COMMISSION

Villy Wang President

Matt Stiker Vice President

Jim Beaumonte Commissioner

Claudine Cheng Commissioner

Tony Delorio Commissioner

Alix Rosenthal Commissioner

Jon Rubin Commissioner

Jack S. Song Commissioner

Belle Taylor-McGhee Commissioner

Carolyn Tyler Commissioner

Julie Gilman Veronese Commissioner

OFFICE STAFF

Manijeh Fata Acting Executive Director

Zefania Preza Senior Film Coordinator

Ismael Castillo Film Coordinator



For those productions that choose to do significant filming in the Bay Area while completing the bulk of shooting outside of the state, the limited credit for filming here disincentivizes those productions from relocating the remainder of their production to California and using the state credit program.

Finally, local stakeholders are exploring the development of additional film production space to support the local industry's growth. Expanding incentives for productions to film in the Bay Area will be critical to the feasibility of new film production space in the region.

For these reasons, we respectfully recommend that we strengthen the value of the film credit program for the Bay Area film industry. SB 485 should be amended to establish a 10% supplemental credit (instead of the existing 5% supplemental credit) for filming conducted within a "Bay Area zone" defined to include the nine counties in the Bay Area.

Sincerely,

Villy Wang Matt Stiker President Vice President

Commissioners Jim Beaumonte Claudine Cheng Tony Delorio Alix Rosenthal Jon Rubin Jack S. Song Belle Taylor-McGhee Carolyn Tyler Julie Gilman Veronese



City and County of San Francisco San Francisco Film Commission • City Hall • Room 473 One Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco • California • 94102 415 554 6241 • www.filmsf.org